Drooling over the Drapers

This post should really be entitled we are obsessed.

This year on Black Friday Target had all four seasons of Mad Men on sale for $6.00 a season!?!?!  We had been renting Entourage seasons from the library for a while, but Mad Men was always on a long wait list.  So impulsively I scooped up the whole set and then they sat on our shelf until after the holidays. 

 Here was our to do list for when we got home from Minneapolis….

1)      Laundry

2)      Christmas Decorations Clean-Up

3)      Clean out the closets

4)      Pinterest Crafting

5)      Study for boards (Justin)

6)      Work out (both of us)

7)    Be productive members of the human race. . .

 Instead here is a look at our past couple of weeks…. Dates/episodes may not be completely accurate… not sure that really matters!

I should mention each episode is an hour....don't judge us!

So to recap.. our list crossed off is what we accomplished!

1)      Laundry

2)      Christmas Decorations Clean-Up

3)      Clean out the closets

4)      Pinterest Crafting

5)      Study for boards (Justin)

6)      Work out (both of us)

7)    Be productive members of the human race. . .

YEP…. one thing….

 In an effort to preserve mankind and all your productivity…. Here is my list of how life has changed since watching Mad Men. Be warned, this show is awesome and you should watch.

 1)      I hate every article of clothing I own and Justin’s because I spend my time drooling over the clothes on the characters!

Are you kidding me?! So elegant!

2)      I failed miserably at dress shopping for Winter Ball because in my mind I should be Betty Draper. . .

JEALOUS!

3)      We now have multiple mixology apps on our phones in order to translate Don’s drinks as he orders, or pours 24 hrs a day. . .

an old fashionat 9 am...why thank you Don!

4)      I now refer to our couch as the fainting cushion, because every lady should have one, I mean it is only the proper place to lounge after a hard day of “housewifing”. . .

hmmm, what to make for dinner...

5)      All chores can be ignored, Carla will get to them later. . . this is problem-matic if you do not actually have someone to clean your house… which is why I will not post a picture of what our house looked like on Sunday… yikes!

this is how I will be dressing from now on while cleaning...

6)      When given to option to be productive, or watch another episode of Mad Men, our DVD player will be running…

pretty much how we look after going out...HA!

7)      I am completely torn at my love for this era and my disgust for the “norm” back then…

I die! swoon!

8)      We want to have a theme party. . .

get ready...

 9)      I now wear bright lipstick, because that is what Betty Draper would do. 

current color...Kate Spade, supercalifragilispstick!

10)      I have called multiple thrift stores in the area (I hate thrift stores!) to discuss their selection of 1960’s attire… I am on a mission.

“hi, what do you have in stock that screams, Betty Draper…?”

In case my love for this show is somehow lost in translation… the lesson here is WATCH Mad Men…now. And if you are near us in Wi … watch before March…because I will be having a themed dinner party… and you will be expected to dress in character 🙂  Now…back to online thrifting! omgiamobsessed…is it FRIDAY yet?!

 While I am wistful of the past, I am grateful that I live in a day where being a Mr. & Mrs. means more than taking a last name and having a home & children together! OH THE LIES!!!!

              But OMGOSH the CLOTHES!!!!!amiriteorwhat!

PS: Tara…get these boards over with y’all have some serious catching up to do!

 

Leave a Reply

