Pumpkin Spice & Everything Nice

If Winter didn’t follow Fall it would hands down be my favorite season!!!

Scarves, riding boots, jeans, sweaters, pumpkins, chilly fresh air, open windows and of course LSU football season which brings great food & games every Saturday… If only snow and bitter cold did not follow I would surely be a fall girl!

This fall I have been especially festive around the house and I blame it all on my love of pumpkin spice everything! As soon as Labor Day passed I took down all my August, end of summer decorations and got busy!

First things first, no fall house is complete without fall scents.  For me that means Bath & Body Works plug-ins and candles. Pumpkin spice, nutmeg, vanilla cinnamon all combined to create that perfect fall atmosphere. Plus…I am kind of scent addict. I love coming home to a welcoming house, nice scents pretty lighting… In order for this to happen I need plug-ins.  The Mr. is not so great with lighting candles. However, since our house doesn’t have many top lights I do get a lot of ambient lighting!

After I had the right smell going on I promptly made pumpkin spice pancakes –(I’ll post this recipe! DELISH!!!) in an effort to butter the Mr. up to bringing a few totes upstairs with my past fall decorations! I am nothing if not green when it comes to recycling decorations!

The  Mantle is always my starting point for displays.  I decided to move my pinwheel flower bunches (below) into a large vase with light-up willow branches for the sofa table.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then stacked up candles, cinnamon pinecones and baby pumpkins but it still wasn’t quite right.  After trying several configurations I decided to get crafty.  Out of yarn, styrofoam cones and pearl pins I created giant yarn candy corns! So cute and festive!!  I added a garland I made below and with my Cricut I cut out two pumpkins and Trick or Treat, painted them gold w/glitter and a deep brown & it was all done!

On the coffee table I added the remainder of the cinnamon pinecones in a cute bargain bin Michael’s basket find with a few felt flowers. Then I put up a candle holder and fall coffee table magazines… AKA Southern Living & Field and Stream (Justin’s choice).  Check and Check…

I added a branched pumpkin and rustic lantern to the sofa table and it was done.

The dining room table is simple, I had an old brown vintage looking Target table-cloth, with yellow placements, my giant LOVE of a vase from IKEA with some Louisiana Moss (Michael’s) and purple and gold hydrangeas. On the wall I updated a yarn wreath I made a while back with new fall flowers and puffs… Added a couple of candle sticks and BAM! Done.

In our ½ bath, I decided to run with the football theme, I changed up my scrabble words to say Geaux Tigers, and since my brother doesn’t have any immediate plans to visit I am sure they will continue to read Geaux Tigers –(he considers these words as a challenge to create new sayings… )   And on the window sill I framed the below article from Southern Living, September edition.  Happy Fall & of course Geaux Tigers!!

The 10 Commandments of College Football Fandom – Southern Living

THERE’S AN OLD SAYING THAT IN THE SOUTH, FOOTBALL IS RELIGION, AND EVERY SATURDAY IS A HOLY DAY—SO OUR STAFF COMPILED THESE INSCRIBED-IN-PIGSKIN IMPERATIVES FOR GAME DAY.

From Southern Living magazine

1. Thou shalt wear team colors. But think twice before adorning yourself with body paint—you don’t want to be the Internet photo that goes viral.

2. Thou shalt know—and sing—your team’s fight song from beginning to end. Sure, you can “watermelon watermelon” your way through the alma mater, but not memorizing the fight song is a fan failure.

3. Thou shalt keep your language clean (unless, of course, the quarterback fumbles on fourth and goal).

4. Thou shalt support the coach. Even when his calls are questionable.

5. Thou shalt be respectful to visiting teams. Remember: Southern ladies and gentlemen never boo.

6. Thou shalt set up a tailgate no fewer than three hours before kickoff (six if it’s a night game). Table linens and matching huggers encouraged, but not required.

7. Thou shalt theme your tailgate food around the visiting rival. Gator bites, anyone?

8. Thou shalt stay through the fourth quarter—rain or shine. That’s what ponchos are for, y’all.

9. Thou shalt respect the solemnity of Game Day by planning weddings, births, and other life events around the football schedule.

10. Thou shalt not covet other teams’ bowl games, national championships, or Heisman Trophy wins. There’s always next year.

|From thSeptember 2011 Magazine Issue

I am grateful for having a mom who loves to decorate for seasons and who always has a welcoming home!


Comments

  1. I’m grateful for a daughter who has always liked celebrations and pretty things:)

Leave a Reply

